Pilot

Hi!

First of all, being here, you’ve probably downloaded my app, Random Key. It’s an app I built for myself, and seeing how helpful it has been to me, I decided to put it up on the Play Store so it can help other guys as well. Its point is to just allow you to practice a different key every day, so that in a few months, you will be comfortable in any key. I hope you enjoy it. If you have any ideas on how it can be made better, please leave a comment.

If you’ve ever taken time to read the titles of the episodes of your favorite TV series, you probably have come across the name “Pilot.” This is usually the name of the very first episode of the very first season. It is the episode that is shown to the TV company to give them a solid idea of what the entire series is about. And that is exactly what I hope to achieve through this blog post.

First of all, who am I? Well, you can call me Dave. I sing and play the guitar and piano. For a long time I plateaued in my music. This was because I used to play only familiar chords. When I heard a new song that I liked, I looked it up on Ultimate Guitar and played while reading. This certainly helped to build my finger strength and fingering techniques, but it did nothing for my musical ear or creativity. After a while, playing the guitar started to become boring.

Every so often, however, I would stumble upon a Carlos Santana or Jimi Hendrix video that made me remember why I had started learning guitar in the first place. The same reminder would come up again whenever I heard Creed’s “One Last Breath” or “Here Without You” by Three Doors Down. Eventually, I couldn’t take it any more. I had to move on to the next step of guitar playing.

So what next? I decided to work on my ear training and my music theory, so that I could stop playing random stuff and actually understand what I was playing. Best decision I ever made, it turns out.

Since then, I have come across a huge variety of musical concepts, some really helpful, others just plain deceptive. So I have decided to start this blog to help guys out with a systematic way of mastering music, from the absolute basics to the more advanced stuff. I’d hate to see anyone lose as much time as I did before I could play music creatively.

So sit back, relax, and enjoy the ride. Also, leave your opinion on the comments section.

Leave a Reply

